Interested in the Dodge Challenger? Be sure to check out the Dodge Challenger Forum for your Dodge Challenger information!
Chrysler 300C SRT-8 Header Left Chrysler 300C SRT-8 Logo Right

Go Back   Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forum > Off-Topic Forum > Off-Topic Discussion
Home Forum Active Topics (T) Photo Gallery Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


       
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2006, 11:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Rambit's Avatar
Premium User
 
Car: 2005 300C SRT8
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member Number: 1493
Location: Why I'm at www.300cforums.com of course!
Trader Rating: (5)
Posts: 15,647
Friggin' Johnny.ca Spam???

A couple of weeks ago I noticed a Macromedia Flash animated banner type ad for johnny.ca and it's a GM ad of all things on a Chrysler forum. If you click on it, it takes you to a GM site advertizing several GM models. It really bugs me and it's always the same thing "Johnny Tip #43 - Always slow down for old ladies crossing the road".

I tried everything to get rid of it including running a spyware program to no avail. It was on both my desktop, which I rarely use these days and my laptop. It was also ONLY on the Active Topics page just below one of the supporting vendors banners. It suddenly went away after a day or so, but now it's back.

Is anyone else getting this flash spam ad? Just to prove I'm not losing my mind, here's a screen capture of it...



Rambit
__________________
Check it out --->HERE




2005 300C SRT8 - #72 of 252 (excl. 11 pilots) - #10 of 35 Canadian SRT8's built
2008 Harley Davidson FLSTF Fatboy - Vance & Hines Big Shots STGD with FuelPak tune.
2008 Jeep GC SRT8 - Custom Build/Custom Delivered by SRT - 1 of 1 in Canada
Rambit is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2006, 11:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
vvv90's Avatar
Premium User
 
Car: 2006 300C SRT-8 2005 Ram SRT-10 I love gas guzzlers
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member Number: 1919
Location: North Aurora IL
Trader Rating: (1)
Posts: 8,834
That's sucks and is total bullcrap....




























.....Everyone knows you should speed up. They're worth 20 points.
vvv90 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Rambit's Avatar
Premium User
 
Car: 2005 300C SRT8
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member Number: 1493
Location: Why I'm at www.300cforums.com of course!
Trader Rating: (5)
Posts: 15,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvv90
.....Everyone knows you should speed up. They're worth 20 points.
30 if they're carrying groceries.

Here's the link it takes you too... http://www.gmcanada.com/static/engli...html?adv=17691

EDIT: If you click on the SS Supercharged Cobalt around 220 HP, it's meant to directly compete with the SRT 4. What a joke. I took one out last week and it wasn't even close from a stop. They got a ton of work before it can take on the new SRT4's.

Rambit

Last edited by Rambit : 06-16-2006 at 11:24 AM.
Rambit is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
bruno's Avatar
Premium User
 
Car: 2005 Chrysler 300C
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 3129
Location: Clovis, CA.
Trader Rating: (3)
Posts: 7,732
Ha, ha! The banner ad is simply trying to teach you some good manners, Rambit.

On the other hand, you are probably infected with what’s known as malware and what you are experiencing is more likely “adware” and not “spyware”.

Adware is software that displays advertising such as pop-up and banner ads. It’s possible to collect personal information so the ad can target and be customized for the user and is often installed with other free software that you want. If it’s legit, you should be able to uninstall or disable the adware. Therefore Rambit, don’t go clicking on those interesting things that show up on your laptop!!! I won't even attempt to guess what else you might have on your hard drive!

There are some very good, free adware removal programs such as ad-aware from Lavasoft. http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

Also, Microsoft has its own malicious software removal tool that you might want to check out first. Here is the link: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=890830

Hope this helps! And, don’t go calling me ‘crusty’ or offending my neurons anymore! Obviously, they helped to produce this offer of assistance.

bruno
bruno is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 11:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Rambit's Avatar
Premium User
 
Car: 2005 300C SRT8
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member Number: 1493
Location: Why I'm at www.300cforums.com of course!
Trader Rating: (5)
Posts: 15,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruno
Ha, ha! The banner ad is simply trying to teach you some good manners, Rambit.

On the other hand, you are probably infected with what’s known as malware and what you are experiencing is more likely “adware” and not “spyware”.

Adware is software that displays advertising such as pop-up and banner ads. It’s possible to collect personal information so the ad can target and be customized for the user and is often installed with other free software that you want. If it’s legit, you should be able to uninstall or disable the adware. Therefore Rambit, don’t go clicking on those interesting things that show up on your laptop!!! I won't even attempt to guess what else you might have on your hard drive!

There are some very good, free adware removal programs such as ad-aware from Lavasoft. http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/

Also, Microsoft has its own malicious software removal tool that you might want to check out first. Here is the link: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=890830

Hope this helps! And, don’t go calling me ‘crusty’ or offending my neurons anymore! Obviously, they helped to produce this offer of assistance.

bruno
Actually bruno I just managed to turn it off through Norton Internet Security by blocking the GM site. If I turn off all ads I don't see even the supporting vendor ones, so I just selectivly added that site to the blocked list.

So...is that a neuron and if so exactly where is the synapse taking place? More importantly, hopefully it's not the only one...hehe.

Rambit
Rambit is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Rambit's Avatar
Premium User
 
Car: 2005 300C SRT8
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member Number: 1493
Location: Why I'm at www.300cforums.com of course!
Trader Rating: (5)
Posts: 15,647
Well that worked for all of 30 seconds. You have to go to the Macromedia web site to access the settings manager for it and delete the site from there http://www.macromedia.com/support/do...manager07.html ...jeez

Rambit
Rambit is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 02:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
srt8danno's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Dodge Challenger SRT8 #672
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member Number: 1971
Location: SW Florida
Trader Rating: (0)
Posts: 15,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvv90
That's sucks and is total bullcrap....




























.....Everyone knows you should speed up. They're worth 20 points.
I thought you got bonus points if they kept their shoes on?
__________________
2008 Challenger SRT8 #672-Black with all available equipment
2005 RAM SRT-10 RC Black-all available equipment/ tint 5%
srt8danno is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 AM.

  • AutoForums.com
  • Truck
  • European
  • Import
  • Domestic
  • Manufacturer

AutoForums.com is the premier network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
We operate more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share experiences and opinions as a community.

Visit AutoForums.com today.

For advertising information, please visit our AutoForums.com website and Contact Us, or send an email message to sales@autoforums.com.


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0