Bought a Predator - Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums
UK & Europe Regional Forum This section is for topics relating to the EU versions of the Chrysler 300 and diesel powered models.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-11-2012, 04:21 PM Thread Starter
Member
Points: 3,239, Level: 1 Points: 3,239, Level: 1 Points: 3,239, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Ian_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Middlesex, UK
Posts: 80
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Bought a Predator

As advised in earlier posts..

120 - a used one, but was "unmarried" correctly. Plugged into car, and it wants to do an update.. sadly I don't have anything to power it with away from the car, so I'll need to get a multi-adaptor or something. Then it's time to backup and have a play I guess.

I see a few threads about 93 tunes - are there any for our petrol over here (97 or 99)?
Ian_T is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-11-2012, 04:25 PM
Super Moderator
Points: 55,361, Level: 1 Points: 55,361, Level: 1 Points: 55,361, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
MADDOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,325
Thanks: 332
Thanked 1,800 Times in 1,622 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
No, it was unmarried correctly. If it wasn't done properly you'd get a different notice. You do need the 12V adapter and the pc interface to update your unit. Once you have the required cables, you go to DiabloSport.com, then to the Predator section, then scroll down to "Downloads" and update your unit.

Michael
2006 300C SRT8
MADDOG is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-11-2012, 04:29 PM
Supporting Vendor
Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Simon@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 6,693
Thanks: 158
Thanked 169 Times in 160 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_T View Post

I see a few threads about 93 tunes - are there any for our petrol over here (97 or 99)?
Our 99 / super unleaded is the closest you'll get to the US 93 and our normal unleaded is the 91.

I run the 93 CAI with our normal unleaded and it runs fine.

Regards

Simon

www.custom300cshop.co.uk
Simon@thecustom300cshop is offline  
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-11-2012, 04:45 PM
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 78,215, Level: 1 Points: 78,215, Level: 1 Points: 78,215, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 89% Activity: 89% Activity: 89%
 
badgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, UK 5.7 Hemi STARTECH EDITION PRINS VSI LPG & KEIHIN INJECTORS (AIRLIFT PERFORMANCE)
Posts: 4,360
Thanks: 414
Thanked 459 Times in 414 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Yep its true, Octane in US is measure in AKI, which is about 3 point difference to RON.

So, a 91oct tune is equivalent to our 95RON fuel or 93oct tune equivalent super unleaded. Either way, HEMI is happy with either tunes regardless of what octane you put in, it has knock sensors

PM me, if you need older tunes, I have most of them and the one that works for me is 9r28 on 91oct tune.

One step for man, one giant leap for mankind


Airlift Performance Autopilot V2___________________________________________Air_Management_ System


Last edited by badgx; 11-11-2012 at 04:47 PM.
badgx is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 07:19 AM
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 24,926, Level: 1 Points: 24,926, Level: 1 Points: 24,926, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 640
Thanks: 2
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I had this update problem at first, but after a bit of faffing around on the PC interface etc, it worked fine.
I had the same issue with the 300C and the GC SRT8 jeep.
I bough a Maplin 12 volt power unit, for use with the tuner off the car, it works fine.
The USA supplied unit is only 110 volts so is no good here.
You need this kit to update / change the tune versions, however, I think that 9r.30 is the latest and last version. I believe the Predator is now an obsolete Diablo product.
ivanford is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-13-2012, 10:56 AM Thread Starter
Member
Points: 3,239, Level: 1 Points: 3,239, Level: 1 Points: 3,239, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Ian_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Middlesex, UK
Posts: 80
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Tried the update after finding a suitable power supply. Had some fun getting the USB-to-serial cable working. Got about 9 blocks into the update, and it failed - leaving me with an unusable device (app missing or similar?). I tried the recovery procedure, and it just keeps failing around the same time (9-12 blocks written)... no idea how to proceed from here.
Ian_T is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-13-2012, 11:01 AM
Supporting Vendor
Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Simon@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 6,693
Thanks: 158
Thanked 169 Times in 160 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_T View Post
Tried the update after finding a suitable power supply. Had some fun getting the USB-to-serial cable working. Got about 9 blocks into the update, and it failed - leaving me with an unusable device (app missing or similar?). I tried the recovery procedure, and it just keeps failing around the same time (9-12 blocks written)... no idea how to proceed from here.
Get a serial to USB from Maplins. I had no end of trouble with mine due to the same thing. When you get the cable from maplins let Windows load its own driver as the one in the box with it dont work (well not on XP).
Simon@thecustom300cshop is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-13-2012, 11:29 AM
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 24,926, Level: 1 Points: 24,926, Level: 1 Points: 24,926, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 640
Thanks: 2
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I too had big, big problems at the start, it seems some of these cables don't work very well on the Predator. I had to get an IT expert to help me sort it out. Once I got it going, no further problems.
I'm too far away in Northern Ireland to help you, but maybe someone closer could ?
Don't give up it will work.
ivanford is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-13-2012, 11:38 AM
Supporting Vendor
Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Simon@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 6,693
Thanks: 158
Thanked 169 Times in 160 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanford View Post

I'm too far away in Northern Ireland to help you, but maybe someone closer could ?
Don't give up it will work.
He can bring it to me to load it
Simon@thecustom300cshop is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 11-13-2012, 11:42 AM
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 24,926, Level: 1 Points: 24,926, Level: 1 Points: 24,926, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 640
Thanks: 2
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I dont think Diablo will release any more updates for the Predator, so the updating kit might be wasted.
ivanford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just bought a used diablosport predator, need help mjcotton7 Tuning/CMR/Dyno/DataLogging/Gauges 3 12-14-2011 12:11 PM
Just bought an '05 3.5l, will the predator tuner help much? zim18 Tuning/CMR/Dyno/DataLogging/Gauges 5 06-10-2010 03:33 PM
Just Bought Predator. FrankieG889D Tuning/CMR/Dyno/DataLogging/Gauges 6 03-17-2009 05:17 AM
Anyone that bought a 300 wish they had bought a Charger instead? 4life General Discussion 66 04-02-2008 11:28 PM
Predator callibration + $3000 Laptop = NO GO! Predator + SRT = 5.1sec 0-60 on 24's!!! YoungMedic23 Tuning/CMR/Dyno/DataLogging/Gauges 8 10-05-2007 12:31 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design