Air ! - Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums
UK & Europe Regional Forum This section is for topics relating to the EU versions of the Chrysler 300 and diesel powered models.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 04:05 AM Thread Starter
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 39,034, Level: 1 Points: 39,034, Level: 1 Points: 39,034, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
padpadpadpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 850
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Air !

Is there a modified air filter for the 300c CRD yet ? - got a spider and have problems with the engine pulling back under hard acceleration (unless I lower the spider settings to next to useless). Wondering if allowing more air in will help.
padpadpadpad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 04:49 AM Thread Starter
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 39,034, Level: 1 Points: 39,034, Level: 1 Points: 39,034, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
padpadpadpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 850
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Does this fir the 300c CRD properly - anyone got one ? > K&N AIR FILTER FOR CHRYSLER 300C 3.0 V6 DIESEL 05-10 | eBay
padpadpadpad is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
Points: 5,870, Level: 1 Points: 5,870, Level: 1 Points: 5,870, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
dm575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Walsall, West Midlands. UK
Posts: 204
Thanks: 100
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yep, fits fine. No difference in sound or power though
dm575 is offline  
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 06:05 AM
Supporting Vendor
Points: 97,625, Level: 1 Points: 97,625, Level: 1 Points: 97,625, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
paul@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wales Uk
Posts: 4,701
Thanks: 27
Thanked 219 Times in 209 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by padpadpadpad View Post
Is there a modified air filter for the 300c CRD yet ? - got a spider and have problems with the engine pulling back under hard acceleration (unless I lower the spider settings to next to useless). Wondering if allowing more air in will help.
You could try removing the other part of the airbox ( cant remember the name of it) as that will restrict it a bit, its behind the nearside wheel arch linning

photo number 4 here- http://www.300cforums.com/forums/eur...map-297hp.html



www.custom300cshop.co.uk

Clear marker - Startech grill - Rear Rosen twin screens - Lockpick v2 - Front camera & Rear Camera - Chrome Pillars - BMC filter - 20'' SRT8 wheel with Brembo brakes - Billet tech catch can - Billet Tech centre caps- Billet Tech emblems - Billet tech - a/c controls, extra large intercooler, 312bhp 537ft.lbs DIESEL ( dyno proven ) Cobra rear pipes, Tranzformer

http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Cu...620497?fref=ts
paul@thecustom300cshop is online now  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 06:28 AM Thread Starter
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 39,034, Level: 1 Points: 39,034, Level: 1 Points: 39,034, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
padpadpadpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 850
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm575 View Post
Yep, fits fine. No difference in sound or power though
Really so no benefit ?, am I just as well leaving the stock in and not wating my money then ?
padpadpadpad is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 07:52 AM
Supporting Vendor
Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Simon@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 6,693
Thanks: 158
Thanked 169 Times in 160 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I don't think air is your problem. You could try removing the spider's wiring from the conduit and checking the crimped joints that are hidden inside.

Regards

Simon

www.custom300cshop.co.uk
Simon@thecustom300cshop is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 08:40 AM
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 17,223, Level: 1 Points: 17,223, Level: 1 Points: 17,223, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
alex uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: cardiff s wales uk
Posts: 545
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i have a pipercross panel and ai have takent the air silencer out and fitted a cold air feed to the grill next to the fog light that made a big difference
alex uk is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to alex uk For This Useful Post:
dm575 (02-04-2013)
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 39,034, Level: 1 Points: 39,034, Level: 1 Points: 39,034, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
padpadpadpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 850
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon@thecustom300cshop View Post
I don't think air is your problem. You could try removing the spider's wiring from the conduit and checking the crimped joints that are hidden inside.
HAd it out a few times - seems that if I set it to notice a diffence then when I floor it it has a "hissy fit" (juddering / pulling back)... but if I accelerate slowly first then floor it it's fine ?!. Assumed it was the air / fuel raio or something. Maybe I need to bin the SPIDER.

Why do K&N make a filter if it does not increase airflow !?

Last edited by padpadpadpad; 02-04-2013 at 12:08 PM.
padpadpadpad is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 01:53 PM
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 17,223, Level: 1 Points: 17,223, Level: 1 Points: 17,223, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
alex uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: cardiff s wales uk
Posts: 545
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
my k&n was good it did make a difference but pipercorss is better also that air silencer under the air box behind the bumper does restrict air
alex uk is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 03:42 PM
Supporting Vendor
Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1 Points: 37,912, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Simon@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 6,693
Thanks: 158
Thanked 169 Times in 160 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by padpadpadpad View Post
HAd it out a few times - seems that if I set it to notice a diffence then when I floor it it has a "hissy fit" (juddering / pulling back)... but if I accelerate slowly first then floor it it's fine ?!. Assumed it was the air / fuel raio or something. Maybe I need to bin the SPIDER.

Why do K&N make a filter if it does not increase airflow !?
The air filter will not make any difference to your current problem, unless your current air filter is blocked, by all means change it if you want it to make a noise but dont expect it to cure your problem unless yours is blocked with sh1te.

You will have issues if the spider is turned up to high or has a problem with it. Does your spider have just one row of jumpers or two on it? My one only had one row and was fine when it was set two jumpers down from full power, any higher and it didn't like it.
Simon@thecustom300cshop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design