Oil pressure - Page 3 - Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums
UK & Europe Regional Forum This section is for topics relating to the EU versions of the Chrysler 300 and diesel powered models.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 08:43 AM
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 75,979, Level: 1 Points: 75,979, Level: 1 Points: 75,979, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
badgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, UK 5.7 Hemi STARTECH EDITION PRINS VSI LPG & KEIHIN INJECTORS (AIRLIFT PERFORMANCE)
Posts: 4,310
Thanks: 402
Thanked 455 Times in 411 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
For the Hemi, its old skool oil pressure switch


One step for man, one giant leap for mankind


Airlift Performance Autopilot V2___________________________________________Air_Management_ System

badgx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 09:16 AM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 20,341, Level: 1 Points: 20,341, Level: 1 Points: 20,341, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 2,653
Thanks: 187
Thanked 353 Times in 337 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Think were going round in circles on this one and we will never agree.

Hemi has a pressure transducer because Rays pressure varies on EVIC.
The part number in the manual above is for a pressure transducer. Its not a pressure switch its got a 3 pin socket on it.

Manual for diesel does show the engine has an oil pressure transducer but it defo hasn't got one. It hasn't even got an oil pressure switch as Ray suggests.
The EVIC also shows a constant 115 as soon as engine starts. Its obviously false just to fiddle the ECM into thinking oil pressure is OK. As Ray say's 115 is too high anyway.

Its got an oil level sensor mounted on back of sump.
There are no oil galleries on side of block or head and the obvious place to pick a pressure would be the location on the oil pump. But transducer or switch isn't there and wires arn't there.

But I'm sure we will never agree on this one.

Jack

Last edited by jackwalton; 02-17-2013 at 09:24 AM.
jackwalton is online now  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 09:37 AM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 20,341, Level: 1 Points: 20,341, Level: 1 Points: 20,341, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 2,653
Thanks: 187
Thanked 353 Times in 337 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Just done a search and I've found the following post which agrees with how I believe the diesels are regarding oil pressure.

Hope the link works

http://www.300cforums.com/forums/aus...tml#post730367



Jack
jackwalton is online now  
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 09:49 AM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 13,055, Level: 1 Points: 13,055, Level: 1 Points: 13,055, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
devilmaycare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 2,408
Thanks: 112
Thanked 135 Times in 124 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwalton View Post
Its got an oil level sensor mounted on back of sump.
I think Jack is correct - if manual is to be believed! Extract from manual (sorry, diagram won't copy):

OIL PAN - LOWER
1. Disconnect negative battery cable. (Refer to 8 -
ELECTRICAL/BATTERY SYSTEM/CABLES -
REMOVAL)
2. Remove the oil level indicator tube (2) bolt, and
position the oil level indicator aside.

3. Raise and support the vehicle.
4. Remove the skid plate
5. Drain the oil.
devilmaycare is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 10:02 AM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 20,341, Level: 1 Points: 20,341, Level: 1 Points: 20,341, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 2,653
Thanks: 187
Thanked 353 Times in 337 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Thanks for the above but its not conclusive either.
Just cos it says it in the manual doesnt make it true. Manual for diesel also describes and shows an oil pressure sensor, also shows wiring, also shows a part number. BUT the diesel still aint bloody got one.
Think part numbers that show a pressure sensor are mixed up though as well if I remember right. Part number shown as an oil pressure sensor in manual isnt actually a pressure sensor if I remember right.

The reason I'm so pedantic about sensors is the fact that I worked in the area of measuring every imaginable engineering parameter for 26 years while an Instrument Engineer at a Power Station and its the first things I checked when getting the 300C. Flow/Level/Pressure/Strain/Temperature/Speed/Density/Acidity/Conductivity/Position etc etc. (Cant think of any more to try and impress.) Lol.

Cant trust Chrysler info 100%.


Jack

Last edited by jackwalton; 02-17-2013 at 10:14 AM.
jackwalton is online now  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 10:07 AM
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 51,324, Level: 1 Points: 51,324, Level: 1 Points: 51,324, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
UK CHRYSLER 300C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stafford UK
Posts: 9,544
Thanks: 7
Thanked 218 Times in 187 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Having read that and if its true then what would tell you that you have low oil pressure? Even low oil quantity would have the same pressure as normal quantity unless you had nearly no oil,so what happens if your oil level is bang on the mark and you have a drop in pressure? Do you wait for the death rattle? You wouldnt know till its too late. I'd rather have a pressure switch than a level switch as I can check the level with the stick,I think they are daft if that's what they've done to the CRuDs,next CRuD I get in I will have a thorough look....bloody mad if no oil pressure warning,might aswell not believe the temp gauge then either


single led 501's(not crappy flowery multi led,g4y type bulb,lol)
4300k hid main lights
4300k hid fog lights
Massive Brembo Gran Turismo Brake kit upgrade
Diablo Predator
RS UV-1, 20" alloys
NEVER SAY NEVER
Immobiliser screwed for the 2nd time in a year
UK CHRYSLER 300C is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 10:24 AM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 20,341, Level: 1 Points: 20,341, Level: 1 Points: 20,341, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 2,653
Thanks: 187
Thanked 353 Times in 337 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
No absolutley nothing would tell you you had low oil pressure on the 300C Diesel. Just the "Death Rattle" as you put it, or the bloody thing just slowing down as it siezes up. Or smoke from the locked back wheels (If that can happen) ??.
Its just lucky that Oil pump/relief valve failures are probably fairly rare now but if an engine sludges up badly and the oil pressure falls, its too late on the 300C diesel, the damage would be done.

As happened recently when somones engine really sludged up. No warning light I believe. But if there was a warning light it would be a LEVEL warning light and not a pressure.

Done another search and it appears that the Level switch on the Diesel brings the light up (or has done), on HIGH level as well as LOW.

Jack

Last edited by jackwalton; 02-17-2013 at 10:25 AM.
jackwalton is online now  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 10:33 AM
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 51,324, Level: 1 Points: 51,324, Level: 1 Points: 51,324, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
UK CHRYSLER 300C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stafford UK
Posts: 9,544
Thanks: 7
Thanked 218 Times in 187 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Glad I have the Hemi......again....
UK CHRYSLER 300C is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 11:22 AM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 13,055, Level: 1 Points: 13,055, Level: 1 Points: 13,055, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
devilmaycare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 2,408
Thanks: 112
Thanked 135 Times in 124 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Following my catastrophic oil loss, last August, as a result of incorrectly fitting the O-ring seal in the filter cap, I can confirm that the low-level warning light definitely works (with bongs). Not before a few smoke signals from under the bonnet though.
devilmaycare is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-17-2013, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
Points: 8,959, Level: 1 Points: 8,959, Level: 1 Points: 8,959, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
Pappajohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Scarborough, north yorks.
Posts: 436
Thanks: 47
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
if there was an oil pressure sender, even a simple 'pressure/no pressure' version, then surely the dash warning would remain lit until the engine was started and oil pressure attained.

as it is, the light comes on, with ign on, then goes out before engine start-up which points to a level switch with pre-start 'lamp test' function.
Pappajohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's up with oil pressure?? Agent 007 1st Gen SRT8-Specific General Discussion 6 05-29-2014 04:55 PM
Oil Pressure 99 Psi? kraelo 1st Gen SRT8-Specific Performance & Engine/Intake/Exhaust Mods 3 04-05-2011 07:25 PM
Oil Pressure Beancounter General Discussion 1 10-23-2008 01:20 PM
Air Pressure? splifrover Custom Wheels & Tires 0 05-28-2006 10:15 AM
where is your oil pressure? marlinspike 1st Gen SRT8-Specific General Discussion 11 10-09-2005 07:39 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design