Code reader - Page 3 - Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums
UK & Europe Regional Forum This section is for topics relating to the EU versions of the Chrysler 300 and diesel powered models.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 02:31 PM
Junior Member
Points: 563, Level: 1 Points: 563, Level: 1 Points: 563, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Gadget Man's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Chrysler 300C CRD
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
lol ...yes of course the ignition is on!
As I say, it worked on 2 other cars but I've tried about 15 times and just keep getting "link error"
Gadget Man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 03:02 PM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 14,867, Level: 1 Points: 14,867, Level: 1 Points: 14,867, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
devilmaycare's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 Chrysler 300C CRD Touring in Mineral Grey
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 2,564
Thanks: 119
Thanked 154 Times in 142 Posts
Just to be absolutely sure - the ignition position is where all the warning lights (including glow-plug) come on. I made the mistake of thinking the accessory position would be OK.
devilmaycare is offline  
post #23 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 03:22 PM
Supporting Vendor
Points: 39,887, Level: 1 Points: 39,887, Level: 1 Points: 39,887, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Simon@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 BMW 520D M Sport Tourer
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 6,702
Thanks: 158
Thanked 172 Times in 162 Posts
I had a link error with the dealers starscan pooter a while ago and it turned out to be a faulty TCM. I had a problem with the transmission at the time though so I doubt its that.

Regards

Simon

www.custom300cshop.co.uk
Simon@thecustom300cshop is offline  
post #24 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 04:01 PM
Junior Member
Points: 563, Level: 1 Points: 563, Level: 1 Points: 563, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Gadget Man's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Chrysler 300C CRD
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ok, I'll have another look tomorrow and see if that's what I'm doing, cheers
Gadget Man is offline  
post #25 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-03-2012, 01:01 AM
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 55,336, Level: 1 Points: 55,336, Level: 1 Points: 55,336, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 18% Activity: 18% Activity: 18%
 
UK CHRYSLER 300C's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 CHRYSLER 300C 5.7 HEMI (83W)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stafford UK
Posts: 9,597
Thanks: 7
Thanked 228 Times in 196 Posts
you're probably doing nothing wrong,amongst all of our readers we have a cheap reader and sometimes on certain cars that reads link error,it just means it can't read that particular car


single led 501's(not crappy flowery multi led,g4y type bulb,lol)
4300k hid main lights
4300k hid fog lights
Massive Brembo Gran Turismo Brake kit upgrade
Diablo Predator
RS UV-1, 20" alloys
NEVER SAY NEVER
Immobiliser screwed for the 2nd time in a year
UK CHRYSLER 300C is offline  
post #26 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-03-2012, 04:25 AM
Supporting Vendor
Points: 39,887, Level: 1 Points: 39,887, Level: 1 Points: 39,887, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Simon@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 BMW 520D M Sport Tourer
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 6,702
Thanks: 158
Thanked 172 Times in 162 Posts
Its a bit strange when were all using the same type without issue though Ray, do you think his may have a different ecu or summut?
Simon@thecustom300cshop is offline  
post #27 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-03-2012, 08:44 AM
Junior Member
Points: 563, Level: 1 Points: 563, Level: 1 Points: 563, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Gadget Man's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Chrysler 300C CRD
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well I tried again today but it's still not working, I'm getting the link error message :-(
Gadget Man is offline  
post #28 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-03-2012, 08:49 AM
Junior Member
Points: 1,977, Level: 1 Points: 1,977, Level: 1 Points: 1,977, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Car: 2007 chrysler 300crd touring
Join Date: May 2010
Location: fareham Hampshire
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i tried 3 cars at work today,and it reads theirs ok.Still not working on mine though.GUTTED
andypg is offline  
post #29 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-03-2012, 09:02 AM
Junior Member
Points: 563, Level: 1 Points: 563, Level: 1 Points: 563, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Gadget Man's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Chrysler 300C CRD
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by andypg View Post
i tried 3 cars at work today,and it reads theirs ok.Still not working on mine though.GUTTED
I'm in exactly the same position as you Andy, odd isn't it!
Gadget Man is offline  
post #30 of 61 (permalink) Old 08-03-2012, 01:50 PM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 14,867, Level: 1 Points: 14,867, Level: 1 Points: 14,867, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
devilmaycare's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 Chrysler 300C CRD Touring in Mineral Grey
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 2,564
Thanks: 119
Thanked 154 Times in 142 Posts
I believe all OBD readers use a standard interface chip which should be capable of reading the various protocols in use. Different manufacturers use different protocols and these can also vary with the age of vehicle. The OBD reader will scan for all codes in its library and select the one which is active. Its possible that there is a problem with the Chrysler code not being recognised for some reason. You could try a different reader in your car, or try your reader in another Chrysler to see if that reveals anything.

I use a cheap Bluetooth interface with the Torque Pro app on my HTC phone and this works very well on both my 300C and 97 Audi. When connecting for the first time you can monitor the different protocols being scanned and then store into memory the ones that match your car(s) to speed up subsequent connections.
devilmaycare is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless/bluetooth OBD2 Reader brthmltn General Discussion 3 04-11-2011 04:01 AM
Srt8 cylinder 4 code and pollution control code TheAsphalt 1st Gen SRT8-Specific Problems/Dealer Service 0 09-30-2010 03:48 PM
Change dvd reader elfobuono Car Audio/Alarms/UConnect/Navigation 3 10-17-2009 10:00 AM
EXPIRED: FS: Equus Innova 3120 C.A.N. OBD 2 & 1 Reader sergius Parts Buy/Sell Forum 2 06-14-2008 10:18 AM
new member , long time reader(merged) SRTWALT New Member Introductions 4 12-07-2007 08:46 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design