Cranckshaft Sensor - Page 3 - Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums
Interested in the Dodge Challenger? Be sure to check out the Dodge Challenger Forum for your Dodge Challenger information!
» Featured Product
» Buyers Guide

Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums > Regional Forums > UK & Europe Regional Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics (T) Gallery Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance

UK & Europe Regional Forum This section is for topics relating to the EU versions of the Chrysler 300 and diesel powered models.

300cForums.com is the premier Chrysler 300c Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 10:21 AM   #21 (permalink)
Member
Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
kugabooga's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 chrysler 300c Touring
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member Number: 40928
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland, UK
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Think i may need one too

car wouldn't start this morning , would just turn over but wouldn't fire . This happened about 3 weeks ago then started after 5 mins .

After reading bits n bobs on this here font of knowledge, i decided that my battery might be gubbed. It ran flat in about 35secs of cranking although it wasn't particularly cold here this morning , about 3 degrees C . . .

Anyhoo , forked out for a new Bosch 100Ah battery 125 much to Mrs Kugabooga's annoyance. Money is tight for everyone ( with kids ) at this time of year .

..................and all this when the wheels had just greased sufficiently to purchase the Re-map from The Custom 300c Shop

Back on track .......Car starts fine now but thinking it might be Crankshaft position sensor, had this happen on last motor (beemer) although it was only when it was hot.

Would be interested to find a source for one of these .

Forgot to check for fault codes before i changed the battery , checked after new battery installed but nothing showing .

Car is 2008 , 33000 miles ,

Many thanks and
Merry xmas folks .

Kugabooga
__________________
The early bird gets the worm
...................But the second mouse gets the cheese !!
kugabooga is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2012, 10:30 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 44,878, Level: 1 Points: 44,878, Level: 1 Points: 44,878, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
UK CHRYSLER 300C's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 CHRYSLER 300C 5.7 HEMI (83W)
Join Date: May 2007
Member Number: 12398
Location: Stafford UK
Posts: 9,295
Thanks: 4
Thanked 157 Times in 140 Posts
Crank sensor failures are a swine,as on a lot of cars it doesn't show up on a diagnostics or puts the mil light on,my wife's range rover was playing up last year,wouldn't start,then would start as if nothing wrong but would never cut out once running,replaced the sensor and its been fine since,48 from LR and Chrysler want 108 ???
Do you have the same symptoms? Or does yours cut out whilst driving?
__________________

single led 501's(not crappy flowery multi led,g4y type bulb,lol)
4300k hid main lights
4300k hid fog lights
Massive Brembo Gran Turismo Brake kit upgrade
Diablo Predator
RS UV-1, 20" alloys
NEVER SAY NEVER
Immobiliser screwed for the 2nd time in a year
UK CHRYSLER 300C is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2012, 10:37 AM   #23 (permalink)
Member
Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
kugabooga's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 chrysler 300c Touring
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member Number: 40928
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland, UK
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by UK CHRYSLER 300C View Post
Do you have the same symptoms? Or does yours cut out whilst driving?

My car has never cut out when driving , only ever failed to start twice and only for 5 mins or so, and always in the morning.

108 is a bit steep, lol oh dear may just bite the bullet and order one .
kugabooga is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2012, 10:43 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 44,878, Level: 1 Points: 44,878, Level: 1 Points: 44,878, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
UK CHRYSLER 300C's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 CHRYSLER 300C 5.7 HEMI (83W)
Join Date: May 2007
Member Number: 12398
Location: Stafford UK
Posts: 9,295
Thanks: 4
Thanked 157 Times in 140 Posts
Just wait and see if your new battery has cured the problem,a lot of diesels won't open the injectors till they reach a certain rpm (example VW has to reach 250 rpms before they open) and with a weak battery yours might not have reached the threshold,just wait a few days...if you can
UK CHRYSLER 300C is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to UK CHRYSLER 300C For This Useful Post:
kugabooga (12-15-2012)
Old 12-15-2012, 11:52 AM   #25 (permalink)
Member
Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
kugabooga's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 chrysler 300c Touring
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member Number: 40928
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland, UK
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Cheers

I have decided to "let it develop"

That's what the mechanics at the work say whenever we go in with a problem
kugabooga is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 12:44 PM   #26 (permalink)
Member
Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
kugabooga's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 chrysler 300c Touring
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member Number: 40928
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland, UK
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Well , car now sat on driveway looking nice with new battery but won't start lol . It started fine after new battery was fitted . Done a small shopping run then it sat all night and best part of today . now it just turns over but wont fire . At least its at home .

As the car is under warranty i think i'll have garage deal with it .

Should i tell the garage it's the crankshaft position sensor or let them figure it out ??? .

It's an indi garage , not a Chrysler one .

Toying with the idea of just buying the sensor and fitting it myself . Half hours work and 108 versus the hassle of getting it to garage ( 20 miles away ) and them having it for a few days .

thanks all
kugabooga is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 12:50 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 44,878, Level: 1 Points: 44,878, Level: 1 Points: 44,878, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
UK CHRYSLER 300C's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 CHRYSLER 300C 5.7 HEMI (83W)
Join Date: May 2007
Member Number: 12398
Location: Stafford UK
Posts: 9,295
Thanks: 4
Thanked 157 Times in 140 Posts
Tell them it's the crank sensor, saves them and you a lot of time and cost, if you can fit it yourself then do it but you need to get underneath
UK CHRYSLER 300C is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 06:38 AM   #28 (permalink)
Member
Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1 Points: 971, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
kugabooga's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 chrysler 300c Touring
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member Number: 40928
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland, UK
Posts: 40
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
OK , just phoned local Chrysler dealer . They want 35.90 + VAT for the part . Hellava lot better than 108 .

Now what would i need to change it tools wise ? .


thanks again
kugabooga is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 09:11 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lifetime Premium Member
Points: 44,878, Level: 1 Points: 44,878, Level: 1 Points: 44,878, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
UK CHRYSLER 300C's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 CHRYSLER 300C 5.7 HEMI (83W)
Join Date: May 2007
Member Number: 12398
Location: Stafford UK
Posts: 9,295
Thanks: 4
Thanked 157 Times in 140 Posts
Must be something wrong,I was quoted 108 plus the vat unless they've ordered you a cam sensor.......unless they've ordered the wrong part for me....you know what these parts blokes are like....lol
UK CHRYSLER 300C is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 09:59 AM   #30 (permalink)
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 10,505, Level: 1 Points: 10,505, Level: 1 Points: 10,505, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 42% Activity: 42% Activity: 42%
 
devilmaycare's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 Chrysler 300C CRD Touring in Mineral Grey
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member Number: 7282
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 2,183
Thanks: 85
Thanked 90 Times in 86 Posts
You shouldn't need any special tools. This TSB may prove helpful:
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Crankshaft_Sensor.pdf (128.2 KB, 43 views)
devilmaycare is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to locate O2 Sensor (Bank 2 Sensor 1) retro-steve Problems / Dealer Service 4 11-21-2012 10:20 AM
Map Sensor??? c05300 Problems / Dealer Service 3 12-17-2009 04:31 PM
Which way does the air sensor go? rsmeanie 1st Gen SRT8-Specific General Discussion 2 09-11-2006 07:29 PM
SAS Sensor UniversalAirSuspension General Discussion 5 09-01-2006 06:37 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.



Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2