Driver's power seat dead - Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums
UK & Europe Regional Forum This section is for topics relating to the EU versions of the Chrysler 300 and diesel powered models.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-14-2018, 11:00 AM Thread Starter
Major Contributing Member
Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Armchair's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Chrysler 300c crd SRT Design
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Driver's power seat dead

I've now got a problem with the 300C. The driver's power seat is dead. It wont move in any direction using the seat switch or the memory buttons. It's a bit of a problem as my wife was the last to drive the car and she is 5'6" and I'm 6'4" with long legs. I've checked the relevant circuit breaker and it is fine. The are no click or whirrs when the seat switch or memory buttons are used.

Can anybody point me to what would be best to check next. Even a method of moving it backwards would help in the short term.

TIA
Armchair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-14-2018, 11:13 AM
DGO
Major Contributing Member
Points: 12,715, Level: 1 Points: 12,715, Level: 1 Points: 12,715, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Car: 2013 & 2014 Chrysler 300c CRD & 300 AWD
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 79 Posts
If I remember right there's a connector for the seat wiring under each of the seats. Have you checked that's plugged in properly and are you getting power there?
DGO is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-14-2018, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
Major Contributing Member
Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Armchair's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Chrysler 300c crd SRT Design
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Thanks, I've had a look under there but can't see anything amiss. I'm trying to familiarise myself with how it all works. As far as I understand it at the moment, the seat memory module takes instructions from the seat movement switch and the memory buttons and then sends the power to the relevant motors.

I'm wondering if it is this module that has packed up as I'm getting no life at all. Before I spend money and replace it though, I need to make sure it's getting power.

Just found this informative post from Kaiser Bill...

https://www.300cforums.com/forums/1574417-post15.html

If the Memory Seat Module is linked to the canbus, does this mean a replacement would need to tagged to suit my vehicle?

Now established that I am getting a 12v supply to the Memory Seat Module.

Last edited by Armchair; 01-14-2018 at 12:24 PM.
Armchair is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-17-2018, 02:37 PM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 165,059, Level: 1 Points: 165,059, Level: 1 Points: 165,059, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
paul@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Car: Chrysler 300c 2009 CRD
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wales Uk
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 42
Thanked 261 Times in 250 Posts
There a module in each seat, there not paired so just change them over, theres 2 modules on the drivers seat so take the passengers out first and swap the same one.

The Following User Says Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post:
Armchair (01-18-2018)
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-18-2018, 10:31 AM Thread Starter
Major Contributing Member
Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Armchair's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Chrysler 300c crd SRT Design
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Thanks Paul. I'll give it a go at the weekend. I've got hold of a secondhand memory seat module so if changing over the passenger seat module over doesn't work, I'll try swapping that in.
Armchair is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-18-2018, 10:56 AM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 165,059, Level: 1 Points: 165,059, Level: 1 Points: 165,059, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
paul@thecustom300cshop's Avatar
 
Car: Chrysler 300c 2009 CRD
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wales Uk
Posts: 5,046
Thanks: 42
Thanked 261 Times in 250 Posts
Theres also a small sensor that only on the drivers seat, maybe worth unplug and refitting. it must be a module, as all motors wouldnt break at the same time.
The Following User Says Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post:
Armchair (01-18-2018)
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-18-2018, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
Major Contributing Member
Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Armchair's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Chrysler 300c crd SRT Design
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Theres also a small sensor that only on the drivers seat, maybe worth unplug and refitting. it must be a module, as all motors wouldnt break at the same time.
It's weird. Sod's law it packs up after my wife had been driving it. If I can't fix it, we may have to swap cars!
Armchair is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-20-2018, 04:30 AM Thread Starter
Major Contributing Member
Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Armchair's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Chrysler 300c crd SRT Design
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Aaargh! Trying to sort this seat today. It's just above freezing, tipping down with sleet, the door is open and I'm upside down in the driver's footwell. Now realised that I can't get the module out without moving the seat back a couple of inches. I can't even remove the seat to get at the mechanism without moving the seat back a couple of inches. Catch 22!

Having to swap cars with my wife is now looking like a very real proposition.
Armchair is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-20-2018, 05:56 AM Thread Starter
Major Contributing Member
Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1 Points: 57,418, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Armchair's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Chrysler 300c crd SRT Design
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Talking

It is now fixed.

I ran an OBD diagnostic check as I coud do it without getting soaked and it threw up a U0100 code. Checking the interwebs showed that code to be a generic network communication fault. I cleared the code, swapped the input connector over from the seat MSM to the secondhand replacement module and ran the check again. No U0100. I was still a bit dubious as, in my haste I neglected to clear the code and retest with the original module still connected. Ten minutes of mouthing obscenities had the rear connections in place. It still didn't really expect it to work but it did. Haven't tested the memory function yet and may not as I'm just happy to be able to sit in the thing.

Incidentally while checking the OBD codes I discovered that I could do all sorts of stuff like blow the horn, turn individual headlights on and off etc. from my laptop.
Armchair is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-21-2018, 05:33 AM
Senior Contributing Member
Points: 39,045, Level: 1 Points: 39,045, Level: 1 Points: 39,045, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Car: 2008 Chrysler 300C Touring CRD
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 513
Thanks: 70
Thanked 48 Times in 38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armchair View Post
Incidentally while checking the OBD codes I discovered that I could do all sorts of stuff like blow the horn, turn individual headlights on and off etc. from my laptop.
Ooooh, what software/hardware did you use to do that? Can you control the door mirrors with it? Need to do some faultfinding on mine, and that functionality would be awesome...

JD
Hellraiser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooled Seats Anyone having problems? Superchargemyride 2nd Generation Chrysler 300 Discussion 40 07-19-2017 07:12 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome