chrysler 300c battery draining 2A when ignition off - Page 2 - Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums
UK & Europe Regional Forum This section is for topics relating to the EU versions of the Chrysler 300 and diesel powered models.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 10:06 AM
Junior Member
Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Car: 2006 chrysler 300c
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DESIREE View Post
Your flurry of activity has left me lost in a tangle of unplugged wires. I think you need to slow down so as to trace one issue at a time. I got your reply to my PM. Let's continue this discussion via e-mail.
Hi,

I have exact the same battery drain on a 300c of 2006

I narrowed it down to the remote key controller, on the key ignition.

When I disconnect that module, the car goes to sleep and the drain is gone.
But with the module connected, can signal keeps comming out of this module causing not going to sleep.
And then it drains 2,5A
Any help?
Ralf_g60 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 10:45 AM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 59,250, Level: 1 Points: 59,250, Level: 1 Points: 59,250, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Car: 2008 Chrysler 300C SRT Design Diesel
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 3,083
Thanks: 217
Thanked 419 Times in 400 Posts
Have you got a code reader.
You could have some standing communication error codes ("U" Codes) on the CAN Bus which could tell you which of the modules is not talking properly to the system.

Either the Air Conditioning, Instrument Cluster or Sentry Key Modules are not going to sleep it appears.
Total drain on battery should drop to about 0.06Amps after about 45 seconds of turning ignition off but be about 3 Amp on first turning off.

From the above post a prime suspect is the Remote Keyless Entry System. The module itself may be faulty or you may just have lost communication on one of the 2 wires on the CAN BUS.

I would definitley check for error codes if you can get access to a code reader.

I dont suppose you have had new keys recently, or anything done to the locking system.

Jack

Last edited by jackwalton; 02-14-2013 at 10:49 AM.
jackwalton is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to jackwalton For This Useful Post:
Ralf_g60 (02-14-2013)
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 12:40 PM
Junior Member
Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Car: 2006 chrysler 300c
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After disconnecting the module near ignition key, I believe remote sentry module/immo, the battery usage drops slowly down to 0,04A.

I did read fault memory with a bosch KTS, read intruments, motor ecu, central convenience and other,
No faults are stored. Maybe I can also read can-bus faults, will check tomorrow.

At start, I pulled out fuse 14, what resulted in the car going to rest, usage down to 0,04A
Put 14 back, disconnected radio, amplifier, instrument cluster and airco panel. All sources used some power, but still about 1A usage left.

Connected everything again and disconnected the sentry module, usage was gone.
Used a scope on the 2 canbus wires, no signal, so it was in sleep.
But when I reconnected the sentry module, canbus keeps alive. Waited half an hour and still the same drain of 2,5A. Also on the canbus signal keeps coming, I believe out of that module.

I only have 1 key, and also removed the battery out of that key and put it away from the car, because I don't know of the module keeps searching for the key? Car was locked at that time also for 30 minutes.

I will post a picture of the module.
Ralf_g60 is offline  
 
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 12:44 PM
Junior Member
Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Car: 2006 chrysler 300c
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This module
Ralf_g60 is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 02:02 PM
Elite Contributing Member
Points: 59,250, Level: 1 Points: 59,250, Level: 1 Points: 59,250, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Car: 2008 Chrysler 300C SRT Design Diesel
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 3,083
Thanks: 217
Thanked 419 Times in 400 Posts
I dont want to give you the wrong impression. I am no expert on 300C cars or cars in general. I'm an electronics man from the TV and Power Station field.

I dont genrally like going to dealers but I think this is the type of fault where you need the proper diagnostic tool (Starscan). Think it will point to the faulty area very quickly.

Could it be the other end of the Can-bus wires ?
Module itself, or requires software re-flashing ?


You are definitley in the right area but it will be very difficult to diagnose without the right "Magic Box".

The Torquepro Andriod App definitley reads communication fault codes though.


Jack
jackwalton is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 02:37 PM
Junior Member
Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1 Points: 41, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Car: 2006 chrysler 300c
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I do have torque pro on my sgs3, will try tomorrow.
I will also check again with the Bosch KTS diagnostic tester.
Maybe I'll find a fault code.
Ralf_g60 is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-01-2015, 02:16 AM
Member
Points: 7,237, Level: 1 Points: 7,237, Level: 1 Points: 7,237, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Bo from Denmark's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Chrysler 300C - Diesel
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 91
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to Bo from Denmark
I also have this 2A drain from fuse 14 and it seams like it is the Sentry Module that is the problem.


I would really like to know if its possible to buy a new (or used) Sentry Module and just plug that in. Or is it necessary to buy a new one (or used) and have it programmed by the dealership to make it Work with the key?


:-)
Bo

Last edited by Bo from Denmark; 05-01-2015 at 02:16 AM.
Bo from Denmark is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 07:33 AM
Junior Member
Points: 724, Level: 1 Points: 724, Level: 1 Points: 724, Level: 1
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Car:
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by melcom View Post
Hi.
When I pulled out the plug from the cluster selected in the picture, the current falls to 0 I found the cut-off ignition module. I took out the fuse from the module but nothing that has not changed.
Did you find any solution? I am experiencing the same issue. Detaching the Sentry/Ignition did not help. Detaching the large gray connector on the cluster did drop the drainage from 0.66a to .06a, directly and stable. I did not test the white connector, you've mentioned, yet. Right now I will look in the manuals for the purpose of this connector.
Jeffrey Krist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
battery draining orandaberg General Discussion 5 06-13-2010 04:51 AM
Battery Draining Problem... Solutions???? catch General Discussion 4 10-06-2008 11:06 PM
Battery Life 2006 300C Larryt General Discussion 13 03-06-2008 11:58 AM
Ignition Key Light in 2006 300C? BobF General Discussion 2 12-14-2007 11:35 AM
Adding a second battery to the 300c!!!! Goose Car Audio/Alarms/UConnect/Navigation 4 03-12-2006 08:05 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome