Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I inadvertently bought 55w H3 HID bulbs and ballasts for the fogs...anyone running these in that small a housing? I'm worried they will get too hot. The place I bought them will actually exchange them for 35w even though I already installed them, so that was nice. I don't want to uninstall! Somebody weigh in if your running 55w hids in your fogs and let me know...I think I know the answer to this though....:smokin:

·
Registered
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I think plastic lens metal housing where bulb sits. They metal back was pretty hot to touch. The lens didn't seen too bad....

·
Registered
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Come to think of it. They may be glass. I'll check in the morning.

·
Registered
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
If they are, you have nothing to worry about. I've been running 55w HID fogs in mine since 2007 with no problems.

So, I think they are plastic. Honestly they look like glass but I don't think they are. The funny thing is I ran them on to work today and check the lens and they weren't warm at - the wind probably kept them cool. I was more worried about the housing and the back of the part where the bulbs mounts; I had to take the metal cap off and used a rubber grommet to seal it. I'm afraid that will melt. I do like how these 55watt bulbs look and I can practically drive with just them...thanks for the help man.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
Premium Member
1,405 Posts
Fleen if you happened to get the same projector fogs as me, eBay special, I think they might be glass. I am working on mine right now and thought of this thread. They are glass...definitely.

Reactions: therealfleen

·
Registered
2,561 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)