Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,589 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone ever used the Dr. ColorChip product for minor scratches and chips? Are there any other similar products you guys like? A friend of mine has used Dr. ColorChip and he says it's easy to apply for touch up work and minor scratches and chips. I have no first-hand experience with the product, but my friend is pretty picky about stuff like this and he used it on his Lexus and was very happy with the results. You can find some information about this product at drcolorchip.com. Do you think the standard paint chip repair kit that costs around $50 will be good enough?

Thanks for your advice.

·
Premium Member
1,405 Posts
Subscribing just to know

·
Premium Member
6,589 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've got a feeling it's a pretty good product because my friend likes it and he's very picky. I searched this forum and found a few people who liked Dr. ColorChip, but I would like advice from some of the resident experts here :)

I've never been a big fan of plain old touch-up paint, so hopefully this Dr. ColorChip product is better.

·
Registered
1,480 Posts
I'm kinda OCD and have used Dr color chip on rock chips and small scrapes with pretty good success. The paint match is perfect (better than the dealer spray cans, or duplicolor). One thing to keep in mind is that Dr color chip is made to be used on rock chips and not (large) scrapes. Basically, it will not work on big scrapes (say under the front fascia / bumper from curbs), but for small scrapes (from road debris or branches) it definitely works. For deeper rock chips you may have to fill them in a few times to make them "flush" with the rest of the paint, but once you get the hang of it, it's easy.

·
Premium Member
157 Posts