Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
682 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, anybody else out there who tows a caravan with their crd, i'm relatively new to the crd as i have only had the car for about four weeks now. We hauled our plastic fantastic upto the north east over easter and I was pretty amazed at how the car performed on the journey, there just seems to be an endless supply of grunt from that V6, the one thing I would like to know from any other caravanners is how best to use the slush box on the twisty hills, is it best to lock the box down in the low gears or let it do its own thing, forgive my ignorance regards the auto box but in my defence the last car i drove with with an auto was a 5 litre chevrolet camaro when i was nineteen and in my boy racing prime, towing a caravan back then was not on my agenda !!.

·
Registered
643 Posts
Hi gasman - welcome to the forum. There are a few of us that tow on here. I tow a twin axle job with no effort at all. This was before I had a remap. We went to Cornwall and I left it in drive with the cruise on and it all took care of itself. some of the other guys on here have advised that they need to knock it down a gear on some steep hills but I had no issues. Not towed it since the map though so looking forward to it.

BTW, I had a Camaro when I was 19 too (1989) and that also was my last auto. It was a gloss black Z28 Berlinetta (looked like an Iroc Z) and had the 5 litre V8 with the 4 barrel holly carb. Awesome sound from the exhaust - didn't need a stereo.

·
Registered
654 Posts
personally i let the box do its own thing .I prefer not to use cruise control as evic showed 18 mpg over 200 mile trip return journey 26 without cruise on

Roy

·
Premium Member
294 Posts