Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was reading this thread earlier: http://www.300cforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2499&page=3&pp=10
And i was astonished to learn that i wont be able to drive excessive speeds with 22's on. Is this true? I know the risks of brake failure and tire blow out, but do you guys still not recommend exceeding 100mph with 22's on? I am a very agressive driver and Im purchasing the Hemi versus the limited so ill be able to push the engine more. So do any of you ride 22's and go 100-120? I assume theres a higher risk of malfunction if i dropped the car, so would i be fine driving fast with just 22's with the right tire and not dropping it? Someone please clear this up for me as this is really starting to worry me. Cheers!

·
Registered
1,014 Posts
LenAve,

I know you've read the post all I can say is I wouldn't try it.
You're putting on 'shoes' that we're not engineered for the C. Maybe 20's and even on those I say be careful.

DubDeuces are for slow show not grunt work.

If you want the C to drive at higher speeds with 22's there would be changes I would do first, brakes and then several other upgrades.

There are many more experienced folk on here that I think will back me up on this one.

I suggest taking a look at the SRT8's supension, brakes etc.... and she's sittin' on 20's.

Talk to a good performance shop and the best to you. Let us know what you end up doing.

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
I've hit the speed limiter multiple times and also driven about 10 laps at Willow Springs on my 22s. Is it dangerous? Yes and I still passed track tech inspection. It all depends upon the driver and knowing the changes that 22" wheels incur upon your handling characteristics. Braking distance is increased, as is brake wear.