Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, newbie here, I have a 2005 300c, all stock, 5.7, and recently I had a CEL pop up, got it read and came back with a 0522 trouble code. I changed out the oil pressure switch with a replacement from autozone and after about 100 miles of driving it didn't go away. I bought another switch from autozone and replaced again thinking I had a bad switch...it happens. so I replaced and still no joy. This morning I replaced the switch for the 3rd time, this time I had bought one from the dealer, who had tried to clear my codes and could not, his reader kept saying "fail" when he tried to delete the trouble code. I figured changing the switch to an oem part might clear the problem. well, on the test drive about 5 miles from the house the car just stalled. I got it to restart but there was no response from the throttle, it was idling in park at about 1500rpms, running rough and I had the cel, oil light, esp/bas light and a (im assuming) light from the throttle? kinda looks like a lightning bolt between 2 reversed parenthesis? come on. I also did a key dance and got these codes - 522, 355, 642. Im leaning towards the ECM crapping out on me but im hoping im wrong. Anyone have an opinion?

·
Administrator
13,065 Posts
The code numbers you posted are partial codes. Normally, they start with a U or a P, such as P0522, U0355, etc...

Try reading them again and post up what you find. I think we can research this a bit more and provide some focused diagnosis on the issues.

·
Administrator
13,065 Posts
I did some digging and found:

P0522:
- Low oil level or motor mechanical fault
- Faulty Oil Pressure sensor
- Oil Pressure Sensor harness is open or shorted
- Oil Pressure Sensor circuit poor electrical connection

Since you replaced the switch, it may be the harness has a bad spot.

P0355:

- Faulty Ignition Coil 5
- Ignition Coil 5 harness is open or shorted