Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Finally getting round to posting this up, In this post, I will be showing some of the vague pointers on how to attack and replace a turbocharger on your 1st gen 300c CRD.

Mine had a strange fault and was also of the age where it could go south, it had play in the shaft and at around about 110,000 miles it was time to address the issue. I had exhaust fume coming into the cab, from the base of the turbo.

Tools:
  • 3/8 drive socket set
  • a GOOD set of 'E sockets'
  • a GOOD set of torx bits (I used draper 1/2" bits)
  • Oil filter replacement tools
  • Rags
  • Screwdrivers/7mm socket
Spares:
  • Replacement turbo (Duh)
  • New gaskets
  • New O ring seals for charged air pipework
  • New turbo nuts and studs (recommended but not required)
  • Oil and oil filter
Time duration, About 2 hours to remove the turbo and associated gubbins,
About 3-4 hours to replace. (I am an amateur at this to an extent)

Difficulty? Not that bad, I am tall, Persons of reduced stature might have issues reaching the turbo as its at the back along with the fasteners, A lot was pretty awkward because of the exhaust fasteners were underneath the turbo.

So here is the engine, Ensure it is COLD, Remove the cover... You are greeted with this.

Remove Temp sensor plug, and begin removing the cold air intake.

Leaving you with this:

Begin removal of charged air pipework, Torx bit XXX Remove clip by pulling toward you:

Using E Socket XXX Remove bolt on top of engine releasing charged air pipework:

Pull Charged air pipe toward you and lift up, Recover both O ring seals from Intake to Intercooler and outlet from turbo:

Still using E socket XXX Remove heat shield from turbo (3 bolts)
Swing transmission fluid dipper out of the way gently.

Wangle the heatshield out the way, and remove it.