Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went to have my oil changed at a 5 Star dealer (Atlanta) that keeps SRTs on the lot. They put in the wrong oil (5w-40 I think). When I brought it to the service manager's attention he took it to the mechanics and they said they could use same oil as all Hemis. I showed them the owners manual and my oil and filter were promptly changed. No way they were getting away with that one and I have the prepaid oil changes which we have to pay extra for since we use synthetic oil. I still don't like the fact the wrong oil has been in my engine........BE CAREFUL!!!

·
Premium Member
2,239 Posts
Exactly why I change my own oil; I work in the auto parts business and I've seen too many stripped out drain plugs, and heard too many horror stories of drain plugs left loose, filters left loose, or worse yet the oil being drained, new filter installed, drain plug tightened, but they forget to put any new oil in before they start it up!

The quick lube places are notorious for using any filter they have on hand that may happen to screw on; whether or not it's the correct filter. And don't think it is a whole lot better at a dealership - - after all they don't have their top technician doing oil changes. They've got the kid that worked at the quickie lube last week doing them!

It's not going to hurt anything, however, that the wrong oil was put in and then drained out; it's not like it was in there for a full 3000 miles or anything.

·
Registered
701 Posts
spikejr said: