Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first time to take my bone stock '06 CSRT to the drag strip, so give some hints to a noob dragger.

ESP?
Autostick?
Launching?

The track I am going to is just 1/8 mile.

·
Registered
208 Posts
I'm about to take my 2nd trip to the track tomorrow night, so I'll share my vast experience with you :) I also have an 06CSRT...

If yours won't auto-upshift when in autostick, you might consider getting the transmission TSB. With a predator, you can enable/disable the auto-upshift feature. My first trip was without the TSB. Without auto-upshift, I found it very difficult to manually upshift without hitting he rev limiter because of the delay after hitting the shifter. At any case, you want to reset the adaptives in the TCM, either by pulling fuse 11 or by using the predator. If you run in either auto-upshift or full auto, you want to be careful of wheel spin so you don't get a premature 1-2 upshift and bog.

Turn off your air conditioner, auto wipers, etc.
Turn off ESP. You'll find lots of opinions posted about different ways to disable it (there was a recent thread similar to this), but at least push the button so it doesn't disable the go-fast pedal on wheel spin.

BTW - if you have any success with your CSRT, you'll likely need a helmet. The track I went to would rent one. Search for another recent thread on acquiring a helmet - I like Moose's pawn shop strategy.

Have fun! I had a blast - first trip was at an infamously bad track in December, going to a track with a great rep tomorrow night if the weather holds. My son is back from Iraq and home on leave, so I'll let him try his hand - he'll probably beat me. It'll be fun to see how it does on a good track with auto-upshift enabled.

-david

·
Registered
163 Posts