Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I assume most people are gentle during the break-in period just like the manual and dealer specify. The author of this detailed article says that's the worst thing to do: http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm
He sure sounds like he knows his stuff, but I'm no engine expert.

What do you guys think?

·
Registered
593 Posts
I dunno...I mean the guy says he's a motorcycle guy, but that his info applies to all engines...meh

Some of the things he says make sense, like not doing anything till you reach operating temperature, the only really contraversial thing is going WOT in the first 20 miles.

I mean, it seems to be accepted practice to operate throughout the entire RPM range during break-in, but not to go 0-100-0 as fast as freakin possible like he says. He seems to think his ideas are more contraversial than they really are.

Oh, and he says to drain the synthetic and use dead dinosaurs till it's broke in cause "synthetic's so slippery it will prematurely terminate break-in". Can't agree with that one.

·
Registered
339 Posts
Humm at no plaqce in my manual does it say baby it. It said no 1st Gear WOT for first 60 miles ( Diff gears are breaking in ) and with in the first 300 miles try to avoid WOT in first gear OTHER than that WOT runs are suggested to help make the rings seal better.

IN general out side of first gear drive it like you stole it, 300 miles goes quick :) My mangum was broken in after 1 weekend of driving.

Avoid long runs at the same speed, use the auto stick to keep the RPM's in differnt areas as you drive.

Most of all HAVE FUN !

-Robert

·
Registered
134 Posts