Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As an engineer, I love juicy data.
Curiosity about CAI's prompted me to collect data on my stock system and compare.
With my DROID I can monitor the intake air temp while driving. With the stock system, drop in K&N, 90° ambient, I was seeing about 95° air temp. It's quite consistent 5° above ambient while moving. At a light I see 115 to 120f.
Now I get creative.
I removed the air silencer. With the stock filter box in place, it takes air from the engine compartment, just as a "cold air intake" would. Now the intake temp is around 30° over ambient while in motion. Call me crazy, but I think you know where I'm going with this. Added flow intake maybe, but not cold.
I then proceeded to add my own cheap cold air tube. Just some 4" dryer hose routed from the stock box, to the bumper louver. I think this has been outlined before. I have yet to drive it and get my data desert. I'll update tomorrow with numbers.

Any idiot can build it strong, it's an engineers job to build it light.

Attachments

·
Registered
688 Posts
That's a great way to get fresh, cooler air. Just be aware of deeper water, as you will be more susceptible to water being sucked into the filter, and possibly beyond.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That's a great way to get fresh, cooler air. Just be aware of deeper water, as you will be more susceptible to water being sucked into the filter, and possibly beyond.
That's a thought. However, there is a gap between the air box and the hose. I think as long as I'm not flooring it through puddles I'm fine.

·
Registered
117 Posts
Subscribing...

I want to see the results. Very interested, and very much agreed on the idea.

Sent from my Droid using AutoGuide.Com Free App

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
So I got out today.