Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

I've fancied a 300C for ages since first seeing one back in 2006-7 and thinking thats a style of car that stands out in a crowd.

Anyway in the past 6 weeks I've gone through 4 motors 2001 4.4 X5 then a 2002 CL55 AMG then a 2004 L322 Range Rover and now the 300C and now I have the 300C I'll settle with it for a while I reckon as It's motor I've always liked and now Iv'e driven it I love it.

I picked up the 2007 CRD last Tuesday night and like is always the case when I buy a motor I like a good deal so they always need a little work to bring them up to my standards Im a mechanic and I'm fortunate to have the workshop keys so I have access to the workshop and all it's equipment anytime I need also we have a sprayshop which over the years I've become fairly good at spraying which comes in handy too.

The first issue I had to sort was some body work imperfections, I was pleased with the overall condition but there where 5 little car park dings and 1 big ding in the N/S/F wing so I first addressed the dings with the paintless dent repair rods from the body shop and got them out no problem:

One of the worst dings before:

and after :

then there was the bad ding in the front wing

Before:

After I tried my best to reshape it with the paintless dent removal tools:

After I minted up the panel work I moved my attention to some lacquer peel on the front bumper:

So began by wet flatting it back to get rid of the step and make it perfectly smooth:

then masked it up to prime the areas that need painting:

All finished and re painted:

Next little job was to swap out the old tired Xenon bulbs for fresh 8000K ones,

Left one new brighter slightly bluer and right one old one: