Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey, this question might have been answered before but I couldn't find anything related to it. I just got a 2014 300 base model not to long ago (so excuse me for my newbie questions lol) and it has the 6 speaker alpine sound system. I know this system is equipped with an amp. I want to rip out all of the stock stuff and replace it with some quality stuff. I was curious to know where this stock amp is located. Thanks

·
Registered
562 Posts
Its under the dash by the steering wheel. I would just leave it there and bypass it. No point in going through the hassle to pull it out. Nothing aftermarket isn't going to fit in there anyway.

Reactions: Jimbo87

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm probably gonna get a lot of hell for this but what did you mean by 'bypass'? I'm a total newbie here so please forgive me lol.

·
Registered
562 Posts
You can't replace the headunit, so bypassing the amp isn't going to work. You're going to need to get something like a JBL MS8, Audiocontrol LC6i, Rockford Fosgate 3sixty, etc. that can sum the channels together and give you low-level (RCA) outputs that you can connect to an amp and then run new wire to the speakers.

Depends on what you are looking to do.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the feedback guys. Essentially I want to keep the head unit, swap the speakers, add a sub, and a new amp (if possible)

·
Registered
562 Posts
Thanks for the feedback guys. Essentially I want to keep the head unit, swap the speakers, add a sub, and a new amp (if possible)
You can replace the amp, however, you will need a summing device (or similar) as the frequencies are crossed over in the factory amp, so to get a good full signal, you need something to "put it all back together" and send to the amp.

A lot of people have just replaced the speakers and gotten better sound.