·
Registered
3,692 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
took the hemi (that's what the wife calls it) in for scheduled service and
decided to ask them to investigate the suspension while the car was
there.

Naturally, they drove the car and said they didn't experience either the bump
steer or rear side steps that I've been experiencing.

The inspection did find loose bearings up front which they will be
repairing per my max care agreement.

Question: Could this have actually exagerated the feeling of the
bump steer?

·
Registered
4,564 Posts
I am no expert, but I don't think bad bearings would be the likely cause of bump steer or step out.

The Service Manual says bad bearings might cause -
Front end whine on turns
Road Wander

But the manual doesn't even acknowledge bump steer or step out, so anything is possible. But then bump steer and step out are normal for our cars too.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
the bump steer and rear step out are the outcome of flawed suspension design. Period.

·
Registered
3,692 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am no expert, but I don't think bad bearings would be the likely cause of bump steer or step out.

The Service Manual says bad bearings might cause -
Front end whine on turns
Road Wander

But the manual doesn't even acknowledge bump steer or step out, so anything is possible. But then bump steer and step out are normal for our cars too.
OK, one item fixed. I was having some road wandering and that is definitely gone now. Dealer states no problems found with suspension and no other worn parts. Looks like in the near future I'll be getting the 2 kits from Pedders to fix the bump steer and rear side step.

·
Registered
53 Posts
It is a good suspension design, just a little on the cheaper side when it came to the components to make it work.