Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Newbie here,
This is my second 300c - I had an SRT8 of the same year. I have a strange lighting problem with a 2007 5.7 300C. It has stock factory HID dipped beams and 9005 halogen main beams. It has angle eyes fitted - powered from front right parking light - otherwise stock lighting.

Dipped beams are perfect - no problems at all. The is the main beams I have the problem with.
Switches seem to work 100% correctly and blue dash light works as it should when main beams are on. Main beam bulbs light up in the lamps and look white but throw no light on the road. Looking at the front of the car, the main beams are lit and very white but nowhere near as bright as the dipped beam bulbs.

If I park near a wall at night and flash the main beams lights, they light the wall like parking lights.

I have replaced the 9005 bulbs with new, even tried with a HID set - same result with weak main beam lights
I assume they are getting the voltage ( as bulbs are lit white) but not enough wattage.

Can anyone tell me where the main beam relay is so I could swap it?

Any ideas greatly appreciated as I live on country roads.

Thanks

·
Registered
112 Posts
Are you from another country? (As in not U.S.)
Here we call them high beam and low beam. Low beam are your main driving lights. High beams (with the blue dash indicator) are for back roads, etc where there are no oncoming drivers. You will blind them.
My 06 300c came factory with hid for the low beam (with the projector) and a incandescent bulb for the high beam. Iirc, my low beam stays on when I turn on the high beams.
Are these stock housings?

Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks - Yes it is the high beam/main beam/brights that are the problem. Dipped or low beams are Ok.
Yes - "It has stock factory HID dipped/low beams and 9005 halogen mani/high beams"

·
Registered
3,690 Posts