Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe this could be another forum topic question?
Oil filter part numbers...any preferences?
FRAM
K&N
MOPAR
etc...any others.
Whats the best with Mobil 1.
While were on replacement topic..
Air Filter part number?
FRAM
K&N
MOPAR
etc...

I want to do my first oil change, I have 2300 miles and will go with Mobil 1.
Don't feel a need to hit the dealer till maybe the 6000 - 7500 mile mark.
but I can't find an oil filter at the local auto parts( no numbers in books or computors, too new)...I got a FRAM PH16.
This is what the Ram pickup 5.7L calls for but I'm not sure if it will work..
don't want to dump the oil and then need to run out and get the proper one.

Has anyone done there own oil change? Any tips or concerns would be highly appreciated...Not That I'm a novice...
Thanks Again..
Fernando

·
Registered
281 Posts
Apparently were hearing these engines use the same filter that has fit every Chrysler LH model and the V8 engines built for many years.

I use the Amsoil SDF-15 on all my Chrysler Corp Vehicles. It's a little deeper than the normal one (SDF-42).

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
1st oil changed done ....did it myself

ok, I used a K&N oil filter # HP-2004
Used Mobil 1 - 5-30 weight for newer vehicles. 7 quarts...per owners manual.

Jacking this car is a pain, I drove drivers fwd wheel up on a 4x4 block to be able to get floor jack under car..jacked from beam behind drivers shock absorber.
You will need to remove the plastic pan under engine 4 bolts 7/16ths...
after that its all easy to get to...oil plug 13mm.
oil filter is on passanger side. may be easier to jack from pasanger side.

good luck..
45min job, with 10 min beer break...cost - $40

·
Registered
2,719 Posts