Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I sanded, primed, and painted some stainless steel pillars gloss black and for not being a professional, I think they came out very good. I can see my reflection in them. However, I want to bring them to a high/mirror gloss. I used Dupli Color clear coat and it says to use a rubbing compound after 48 hours. I've been looking on the net and don't know if a rubbing compound will leave small scratches or what. This is the rubbing compound I currently have

Rubbing Compound

I'm thinking/hoping this is the right section to post in. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Super Moderator
5,077 Posts
The best way to achieve a high gloss wet finish in a clear coat urethane is to "color sand"
This process involves using progressively finer wet/dry sandpaper first. If you do not have a lot of orange peel (bumps in paint = high and low spots) start with 1000 grit and finish with 2000 grit.After you have sanded the piece it will be dull.There should be NO shiny area's. If there are you haven't leveled the clear. Once that is done use a mind cutting compound to buff to a dull gloss. Adding water will increase the cutting ability of the compound.Do this until you see a nice finish and no mark left from sanding.Next would be a machine polish. Polishes are what bring a shine to clears-not wax.After you complete this step it should look very shiny. Finish it with a Glaze.It's not a good idea to put wax to a freshly painted area as it will trap any solvents trying to evaporate.
I use 3M products in the Finesse-It 2 line. I start with the Fine Cut. For glaze I use Mequairs. Hope this helps

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The best way to achieve a high gloss wet finish in a clear coat urethane is to "color sand"