Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. This is my first time ever being on a forum, so I have no idea if I am posting this in the correct area or anything. Anyways, on to my problem (I'll try to be as specific as possible)

Last night, my car started getting abnormally warm. I was not romping on it or anything, just cruising down a country road at 60mph. I look down and my temp gauge is almost touching the red line. So I put the heat on blast and rolled the windows down until I got home. I shut the car down and popped the hood, and there were no noticeable leaks, odors, sounds, or anything else out of the ordinary. I let it sit overnight.

Today I went out and saw the coolant level was just below the minimum at cool temp line. So I drove to get Zerex G-05. I picked it up, and my engine was just as hot as it was last night. So I popped the hood again, and noticed the reservoir was almost full to the top.

I am wondering what could cause the radiator to puke the coolant back out like that. There is no white smoke from burning coolant, there is no bubbling in the reservoir with the car running, there again are no drips, smells, sounds, lack of performance, etc.

I checked the fan blades and everything and they are fully operational. I am going to start by getting a new thermostat and pressure testing the block. Is there anything else I can do in the meantime to help? Or anything else that might be causing the problem?

Sorry for writing a long post. Haha

·
Administrator
19,626 Posts
Get a new thermostat and replace it. Make sure the flange bleed hole is pointed upwards.

When was the last time the coolant was replaced?

Check all hoses to make sure one isn't collapsing on you. Best way to do that is turn on the get it to temperature, let the Tstat open then check the hoses.