Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - strange noises from the suspension (I think).
Pressing the brake fairly firmly when moving forward produces a "clunk" sound
(doesn't happen in reverse though).

Seems to be similar to the clunk (from the front I think) when going up something like a speed bump. It doesn't make this noise when coming down a bump though.

No doubt it's hopefully been seen before, but I'd welcome any thoughts or wisdom before I get fleeced (again) at the garage!

Please assume I am a suspension novice and not familiar with the terminology...

Thank you.

Best regards
Matt.
300C CRD SE 2010.

·
Premium Member
518 Posts
Check your motor mounts.

·
Premium Member
4,950 Posts
Check the anti roll bar bushings.

·
Registered
841 Posts
or the tension/torsion strut. ie the bar that is diagonal. It may seam tight but a bit of free play in the bushes is hard to detect.
To test the anti roll bar, drop one side off & go for a ride, still the same? drop the other side off? If it still clonks it can be wishbones.

·
Registered
42 Posts
If it happens at slow speed ( when you coming to a stop ) it could be either inner or outer track rod ends.

With the car parked rock the steering wheel from slide to side gently and listen for a clunking noise .

·
Registered
1,332 Posts
I too have this problem, your not alone. It worries the hell out of me. So far I haven't been able to resolve it and I'm beginning to think it's something major with the brakes.

·
Premium Member
518 Posts
If you live in an area with snow and salt check your motor mounts as the studs are probably gone/deteriorated. I had the issue and my mounts were bad. I replaced all three and now it is smooth sailing again.

·
Registered
1 Posts