Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 906 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no expert on oil. I've heard that synthetic oil's seem to last longer and may be better for cars. Is anyone putting synthetic oil in their 300? If so, what kind do you recommend? :confused: How early can you put it in a brand new car? Thanks for the help!

·
Premium Member
1,431 Posts
I will be switching to Syn and probably will let the frequency slip from 3k miles to 5k miles between changes. Whichever is on sale - Mobil-1 or Castrol Syntec.

·
Registered
336 Posts
I, too am using Mobile 1, but I am extending to six thousand miles the change interval. I used to sell lubricants and have seen nothing in any manufacturers data that would show any benefit to changing sooner than 6,000...under anything less than EXTREME circumstances, of course.

·
Registered
95 Posts
E55 KEV said:
I will be switching to Syn and probably will let the frequency slip from 3k miles to 5k miles between changes. Whichever is on sale - Mobil-1 or Castrol Syntec.
Benz and AMG recommend only Mobil 1 Synthetic oil, so i'm putting the same into my baby.

·
Registered
29 Posts
I had been thinking about going with an extended warranty (7/70 b-to-b w/ $100 deductible) and they throw in FREE oil changes. The warranty costs $1,395, though, and I'm sure they just use conventional oil.

I'm thinking I'll skip the warranty and change the oil myself, since I'd prefer to use synthetic. Everyone who uses synthetic really extoll its virtues.

Is the oil filter easy to get at?

--------------
300C - Magnesium Pearl: T-minus 7 days and counting

·
Registered
272 Posts
synthetic oil

chwhale said:
I'm no expert on oil. I've heard that synthetic oil's seem to last longer and may be better for cars. Is anyone putting synthetic oil in their 300? If so, what kind do you recommend? :confused: How early can you put it in a brand new car? Thanks for the help!