Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2006 300c SRT8
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Trying to fix my hemi tick. Does anyone know if the rocker arms should be loose. I inspected the rocker assembly really no unusual wear.
The lifters are not loose when I push down on the rods.
Currently using 0-40w Mobil 1 fully synthetic. Is anyone using thicker oil?
I have 192,000 miles
and this is my first time diving into this engine.

·
Registered
903 Posts
I now use Redline 5W-40 synthetic in mine. I used to use Mobil One and started using Redline regularly after one oil change with it. I noticed immediately that the engine was quieter. I have no engine noise at all, but I am sure part of it is due to the new performance cam and new lifters I installed at 164K. It now has 173K on it.

By loose, what do you mean? When each cylinder's piston is at top dead center on the compression stroke (both valves closed) there should be absolutely no rocker "slop" and you should not be able to rotate the pushrods if the valve lifter pre-load is correct. If you can rotate any of them, something is not right in the valve train, most probably the valve lifter(s) and/or the cam and very rarely a bent pushrod..

·
Registered
2006 300c SRT8
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just sell it to me problem solved ;)
I now use Redline 5W-40 synthetic in mine. I used to use Mobil One and started using Redline regularly after one oil change with it. I noticed immediately that the engine was quieter. I have no engine noise at all, but I am sure part of it is due to the new performance cam and new lifters I installed at 164K. It now has 173K on it.