Chrysler 300C & SRT8 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
428 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to my 300C and I have noticed that the steering (tracking) is ever so vague. I feel like I have to be "driving" the car a bit too much.

My car is a 2012 300C with 12000 miles. I wonder if this is a characteristic of the car or do I have a front toe in situation. The tires show no uneven ware. I'm going to get an alignment soon and I was wondering if having the toe in set to it's max allowed setting would help or will I just eat up my tires?

Thoughts?

·
Administrator
19,734 Posts
The steering in these cars is a bit overboosted so steering feel, return to on-center and feedback is a bit vague.

It won't hurt to check the alignment at 12k miles in any event.

·
Registered
585 Posts
I find the steering rather hard work, too much road rumble coming through the steering wheel and a definite lack of power assistance at parking speeds, I wonder how some 90 pound female stick insect can reverse park this bloody monster.

However, wheel return to centre is quick and precise , hardly any white line sensitivity, and no vagueness, straight and true even with severe road camber.

·
Registered
428 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I'm quite satisfied with the handling. Actually rather remarkable.

It's the tracking on my car that has me wondering. It's not that it's so bad but rather that it's not so good.:rolleyes:

·
Registered
428 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Just to put a cap on this - I had a 4 wheel alignment done today.

The left front wheel was considerably out of spec. Too much toe in. We figure somebody hit a curb or pot hole with some force. Now to get the car at speed and see if the problem is fixed. All other wheels were within spec.

·
Registered
311 Posts
Also keep in mind that if you had the factory 20" wheels, you also have a different steering setup than stock. 25% quicker ratio and something in the on-center was adjusted too.

·
Registered